Denver DUI Lawyer

SERVING DENVER, CO
HIGHLANDS RANCH, COLORADO & SURROUNDING AREAS.

  • Top-Rated Denver DUI Lawyer & Criminal Defense Attorney.
  • Beating DUI charges for over ten years. We can do the same for you.
  • FREE Consultation and 100% Honest Case Review.
Matt
  • What happens during a DUI arrest in Colorado?

  • If an officer suspects that you are driving while drunk, you will be pulled over and you’ll have to take a Breathalyzer or blood test. To improve your chances of beating your case, be sure to comply with the arresting officer.
    If your blood alcohol content (BAC) is 0.08% or higher, you will be charged. If you refuse to take the breathalyzer test, your license will be taken and you’re likely to be charged anyway. If an officer doesn’t follow proper protocol during a DUI arrest, an experienced Denver DUI lawyer will be able to build a solid defense on your behalf.
  • Can a DUI be dismissed in Denver?

  • By working with a Denver DUI lawyer, you’ll significantly increase your chances of having your case dismissed. Strong defenses include errors in your Breathalyzer or blood test and a failure to follow proper testing procedures. Certain medical conditions can lead to a higher BAC, even if you haven’t been drinking. If the officer failed to advise you of your Miranda rights (right to remain silent), this can lead to a dismissal of your case.
  • What is the punishment for DUI in Colorado in 2022?

  • A DUI is a serious charge. The punishment for this crime is dependent on many factors. First-time offenders can face up to a year in jail and up to $1000 in fines. They may also be required to perform community service. A second DUI can bring fines of $1500 and will likely result in the installation of an ignition interlock device in your car.
  • What’s the difference between DUI and DWAI in Colorado?

  • The key difference between DUI and DWAI is the blood alcohol level. You’ll be charged with a DUI if it’s above 0.08%, but if it’s less than 0.08% and greater than 0.05%, the charge would be DWAI.

HAVE YOU BEEN CHARGED WITH A DUI IN DENVER, COLORADO? ACT QUICKLY TO GET YOUR LIFE BACK ON TRACK

If you don’t take action within 7 days, your license will be automatically suspended. A qualified Denver DUI lawyer will deal with the DMV and the court on your behalf. Our top priority is ensuring you get to keep your license, beat your DUI, and get back to your life.

Beat your DUI. Keep Your License.

DO YOU NEED A DENVER DUI LAWYER?

Matt Chaput - Denver DUI Lawyer

Good people can have a momentary lapse in judgment and make a mistake — If you’ve been charged with a DUI or any criminal charge, your first phone call should be to an attorney.

Remember your rights. You have the right to remain silent, and you have the right to an attorney. Having an attorney is an equal right given to all American’s by the United States Constitution.

Being charged and convicted of a crime can impact all aspects of your life. It can affect your job, your ability to drive, your ability to travel or leave the state, and ultimately your freedom. A Colorado DUI Attorney can help explain the impact that a DUI will have on your life.

A DUI can put your life on pause. Hire a qualified Denver DUI lawyer so you can keep your license and get back to the things and people you love.

Don’t leave your livelihood and your liberty to chance. Contact an attorney proven to resolve various criminal defense cases, including DUI, traffic violations, and drug possession. A Colorado DUI attorney will provide you with a 100% honest assessment of your case — Start building your defense with a FREE consultation.

A DENVER DUI LAWYER CAN SAVE YOU THOUSANDS OF DOLLARS

If you’ve been charged with a DUI in Denver, you could end up paying over $1000 in fines. You’re also looking at bail and bond fees, license reinstatement costs, and other expenses. As a Denver DUI lawyer with over a decade of experience, Matthew Chaput can help to minimize the financial burden that can come with a DUI.

A DENVER DUI LAWYER PROVIDES PEACE OF MIND

The legal system is deliberately designed to be complicated and confusing. If you’ve been arrested for DUI in Denver, you probably have lots of questions that need answering. We’ve helped clients all over the Denver metro area beat their DUI charges and we can do the same for you. Schedule a consultation and get the peace of mind and confidence that comes with having an experienced Denver DUI lawyer on your side.

HOW WILL A DENVER DUI LAWYER DEFEND MY CASE?

Should I Hire a Denver DUI Lawyer or Criminal Defense Attorney?

A DUI charge has many unique nuances and the legal system can be nearly impossible to navigate without the help of an expert. An experienced Denver DUI lawyer will ask all the right questions to put together a solid defense strategy against your DUI charge.

Did the police have reasonable suspicion to pull you over in the first place?

An officer may only pull you over if they have “reasonable suspicion” that you’re driving while drunk. Law enforcement may have reasonable suspicion based on observations such as:

  • Unusually slow, fast, or erratic driving
  • Straddling the line
  • Frequent or sudden braking
  • Being stationary in the street for no apparent reason

If there was no reasonable suspicion, your DUI could be dismissed – even if you were actually intoxicated.

Did law enforcement follow the proper chain of custody procedures?

A chain of custody is the movement of evidence from person to person. If you are required to take a blood test, several people will come into contact with your sample. Along this chain, several things can go wrong. A Denver DUI lawyer has a good chance of getting your case dismissed if proper procedures weren’t followed.

  • Was the person who drew the blood qualified to do so?
  • Was the sample properly collected, stored, and transported?
  • Who tested the sample? Were they qualified to do so?

Were your rights violated?

It’s no secret that police officers aren’t always respectful of the rights of citizens. When dealing with law enforcement, it’s important to keep a level head while remembering your rights as an American citizen.

  • You have the right to be free from unreasonable searches and seizures. If you are pulled over for a DUI, law enforcement should not search your vehicle without your consent or a warrant.
  • You have the right to remain silent. Did the officer read your Miranda rights to you?
  • You have the right to an attorney. From the moment you get pulled over, you have the right to reach out to a Denver DUI lawyer. You can refuse to speak to the officer without your attorney present.

If an officer has violated any of your rights, this may be grounds for a dismissal of your DUI charge.

WHAT ARE THE PENALTIES FOR DUI IN COLORADO?

What are the penalties for DUI in Denver, Colorado?

The penalties you face for a DUI conviction, including potential jail time and fines, will largely depend on whether this is your first or subsequent offense.

First DUI In Colorado

  • 5 days-1 year in jail
  • $600-$1,000 in fines
  • Up to 2 years’ probation
  • 48-96 hours public service

Second DUI In Colorado

  • 10 days to a maximum of 2 years.
  • $600-$1,500 in fines
  • 2-4 years’ probation
  • 48-120 hours public service

Third or Subsequent DUI In Colorado

  • 60 consecutive days minimum and 2 years maximum jail time
  • $600-$1,500 in fines
  • 2-4 years’ probation
  • 48-120 hours public service

What’s the difference between DUI and DWAI in Denver, Colorado?

In Colorado, there is an offense known as Driving While Ability Impaired (DWAI). It’s considered to be a lesser charge than a DUI. The key difference between DUI and DWAI is the blood alcohol level. You’ll be charged with a DUI if it’s above 0.08%, but if it’s less than 0.08% and greater than 0.05%, the charge would be DWAI. This is a misdemeanor charge that will show up on your criminal record if you’re convicted. It’s recommended that you hire a Denver DUI lawyer, who would also be able to defend the DWAI charge.

First Offense DWAI In Colorado

  • 2-180 days in jail
  • $200-$500 in fines
  • Up to 2 years’ probation
  • 24-48 hours public service

Second DWAI In Colorado

  • 10 days-1 year in jail
  • $600-$1,500 in fines
  • 48-120 hours of public service
  • 8 points on your license

Third DWAI In Colorado

  • 60 days-1 year in jail
  • $600-$1,500 in fines
  • 48-120 hours of public service
  • 8 points on your license

Fourth or Subsequent DWAI In Colorado

  • A Class 4 Felony
  • 2-6 years in prison with 3-year parole
  • $2,000-$500,000 in fines

 

ARE YOU FACING CRIMINAL CHARGES IN DENVER OR SURROUNDING AREAS?

WHAT WILL IT COST TO DEFEND MY CASE IN COLORADO?

A DUI conviction can get expensive when you consider fines, bail, license reinstatement costs and a spike in your insurance premium. Here are some of the costs you could be facing:

  • Car towing fees – up to $200
  • Bail/bond – up to $5000
  • Ignition interlock device – $150 per month as a recurring expense
  • Court fines – $1000 for a first offense
  • License reinstatement – $95
  • Insurance premium going up by almost 70%

How Much Does It Cost to Hire a Denver DUI Lawyer?

Your choice of legal representation can make or break your case. By hiring an experienced Denver DUI lawyer, you stand to save thousands of dollars. The cost of defending your DUI charge will vary depending on a number of factors. Contact us for a FREE consultation and honest evaluation of your case. While we’re on the call, we can discuss your options, including affordable payment plans.

Here are some facts you should know about DUI in Colorado:

  • Colorado has two primary DUI offenses. Driving under the influence (DUI) and driving while ability impaired (DWAI). The difference in these offenses is the BAC level of the driver.
  • Colorado state law requires that an ignition interlock device be installed in any vehicle that is operated by the offender… Even if it’s your first DUI.
  • Penalties for DUI increase if a person has had multiple DUIs; for second, third, and fourth or more offenses, mandatory jail time will be imposed.
  • A fourth offense will often be charged as a felony.
  • When Charged with a DUI or DWAI in Colorado, you are also facing a loss of your driver’s license through an administrative hearing.
  • Colorado has an express consent statute. Essentially that statute requires a person suspected of Driving under the influence, to submit to either a blood or breath test.
  • Colorado allows for two different types of testing to determine how much alcohol is in your system. The types of tests that can be administered are both Blood and Breath.
  • Prosecutors can use your refusal to take a test against you in court.
  • Officers must follow certain procedures when administering these tests. Failure to do so may affect their reliability and admissibility in court.
  • To get a hearing with the DMV, you must notify them in writing within 7 days of your arrest – Failure to do so will result in the automatic revocation of your license.

FIGHT DUI CHARGES. CALL A DUI ATTORNEY NEAR YOU

Chaput Law is a top-rated Colorado law firm that focuses on DUI and Criminal Defense. We represent clients all over Colorado.

If you are looking for a DUI Defense Attorney that offers aggressive defense no matter the case, look no further.

Contact us today for a free consultation. Don’t make the mistake of trying to defend yourself or pleading guilty or no contest just because you want to get this behind you. A conviction for ANY charge can have lasting consequences that you should be aware of before making any decisions.

Contact Us Today.

Chaput Law
1745 Shea Center Dr.,
Suite 400, Highlands Ranch, CO 80129
Get Directions

DON'T WAIT. CALL NOW.

All Consultations Are Free of Charge